Spring Palette Challenge: Vogue 8032

All blogging evidence to the contrary, I have actually been working on the Colette Spring Palette Challenge. It’s currently on week 6 of 10, putting me way, way behind. But I have finally finished my first item: view A of Vogue 8032, a gathered neck blouse with a collar and back ties. It incorporates two of the colors from my palette.


As the pattern envelope states, this was indeed very easy to put together. Gathering seems to be my sewing Achilles heel and it was the one element I had some trouble with.

This was also my first attempt at making bias binding. The pre-made binding I had purchased in yellow to finish off the armholes was simply to heavy for this light, airy fabric. Thank goodness for Sarai’s tutorial on the Colette Patterns blog. I didn’t follow it to the letter because I hadn’t purchased enough fabric in anticipation of making binding. But I think it’s pretty good for a first try at the technique with only fabric scraps to work from.

There were two tools I wished I had in my sewing kit for this project: a point turner and a bias tape maker. I haven’t needed them previously but if you plan on making this blouse, I’d definitely recommend both. The point turner is a crucial tool for getting crisp, pointy ends on collars and ties without damaging the fabric. Ultimately, I think I did all right, thanks to my superstar iron.

I am planning only five pieces for the challenge: this blouse, a jacket (Butterick 5214), two dresses (McCall’s 6069 and the Sensibility Swing Dress) and skirt (either the Burda Jenny or Simplicity 2512) so it’s possible I might still catch up.

The Rundown:
Pattern: Vogue 8032 (View A, Size 18)
Fabric: Orange and yellow polka-dot silk/cotton blend from Chic Fabric
Crucial Tools: Point Turner; Bias Tape Maker
Helpful Hints: Check out Colette Patterns Tutorial on continuous bias tape

2 responses to “Spring Palette Challenge: Vogue 8032

  1. So sweet! I’ve been looking for a blouse pattern like that for a while. I can’t believe I never noticed vogue 8032. Love your version!

    Garnet

  2. blogofalltrades

    Thanks, Garnet. Let me know if you decide to make it up too. Meanwhile, off to check out your blog.

Leave a Reply

