My Sewing Anniversary

The mention I made of a Sew School plan I designed a year ago made me realize something. As of about two weeks ago, I have been sewing for one year. What better time is there to look back and take stock of the hobby that’s become my obsession for the last 12 months.

I’ve learned so much in this year, due as much to hands-on experience as to the brilliant sewing bloggers out there. Every time I’ve had a question, I’ve been able to google around or search on YouTube and find an answer. If any of you are reading this: THANKS A MILLION!

Here are photos of my finished projects for the year:

  • Kwik Sew 3683 – My first. A two-piece  jersey knit tunic with unfinished edges. I wear this as PJs these days.
  • Kwik Sew 3765 – An elastic waist skirt. The back seam hasn’t held up very well. But I’m still impressed with my very first hem.
  • Kwik Sew 3579 – Another tunic in four pieces. It’s too short and I don’t think I understitched the neck facing. At least, not well.
  • Butterick 4790 (unblogged) – The infamous walkaway dress, where I learned that hemming a full circle skirt is a beast.  And that dresses that don’t close all the way are not really all that practical.

  • Butterick 5285 – Thank goodness I’ve gotten better at gathering stitches.
  • Kwik Sew 3756 (unblogged) and Butterick 5466 – I guess I had a case of francophilia because I made a French Sailor shirt — with set in sleeves — and a skirt with French seams.
  • Butterick 5214 (unblogged) – My favorite and most worn dress of last summer. A vintage 1947 pattern made from lemon-tree print silk/cotton blend? What’s not to love? I’ve even already mended this one. I accidentally tore a skirt panel in late summer and replaced it!
  • Vogue 8604 – I inserted an invisible zipper, lined a jacket and made buttonholes. Someone was feeling cocky.

The end of the year marked the arrival of my dress form, Joanie. (She joins my sewing machine, Lola.) She’s a much better model than I am.

  • Vogue 8379 – My most worn dress of the Fall/winter.
  • Kwik Sew 3756 – The velvet panne dress version. Here I am trying my hand at adding trim and embellishment to make the dress my own.
  • Butterick 5559 – My understitching has improved but could still use some work. Does anyone out there have advice for getting front facings to really stay put??
  • Butterick 5147 – The sheath dress that was harder than it looked.

And, last but not least, my Halloween costume. It was truly, truly outrageous!

Leave a Reply

