Popsicles and Icicles

I think my annual March seasonal affective disorder has taken hold early. By the third month of every calendar year — for as long as I can remember — I have usually just about had it with winter. I know I live on the East Coast. I know winter is a fact of life here. And I’m able to soldier through it without (much) complaint…until March. Or in the case of this year, February 16.

Now, my thoughts have turned to summer. To long, lingering days with bright, colorful sunsets. To sundresses and sandals. To sticky, syrupy popsicles.

The kind that I eat instead of dinner when I’m feeling particularly frisky. The kind that I secretly let trickle down onto my dresses just because it makes me feel like I’m eight years old again. Mmmm. Popsicles.

Or put in terms of red carpet fashion:

Mmm. Popsicles.

I just read on the Colette Patterns blog that Sarai is leading a spring palette challenge. The rules are roughly: sew as many pieces as you’d like in the 10 weeks until the end of March (I discovered the challenge late, obvs) in a color palette of your own choosing. Inspired by my love of popsicles and weariness of icicles, my palette is: dark mint, tangerine, lemon, melon, and blueberry.

Now to pick some patterns.

3 responses to “Popsicles and Icicles

  1. Pingback: The Sincerest Form of Flattery – Talbots and the Spring Palette Challenge | The Blog of All Trades

  2. Pingback: Full Yellow Jacket: Spring Palette Challenge #2 | The Blog of All Trades

  3. Pingback: Spring Palette Challenge: Vogue 8032 | The Blog of All Trades

Leave a Reply

