My Honkey Tonk Badonkadonk

I worked on the muslin for the Butterick 5147 sheath dress last night. You know what I discovered when I tried it on? Roxanne’s got a big ol’ butt.

Oh my God, Becky. Look at her butt.

Actually, I already knew that. What I don’t know is how to adjust for it when I’m sewing. For answers, I checked Pati Palmer’s Fit for Real People, a book which everyone in the sewing blogosphere recommends but which I have yet to find at all useful. The closest thing I can find is the suggestion to add a horizontal dart to adjust for a “swayback.” But I don’t have a swayback. I have junk in my trunk…although I prefer to think of it as “precious cargo in my back seat.”

So I ask you, my fellow fat-bottomed girls, how do I fix this? And what do you think of the rest of the fit? I think I need to shorten the back split…it seems dangerously high to me. I’m also concerned about this pulling across my tummy at the sides.

Leave a Reply

