…And Master of None

Liar, liar. Pants on fire.

That’s me in my junior year of high school diligently knitting away. Even though it is more almost 15 years old (yikes!), it is one of my favorite photographs of myself.

But it is a lie. A barefaced lie.

Yes, I did learn how to knit that snowy, cold semester. Sure, I could almost always be found with needles in hand during my free time for a few months afterward. The truth, though, is that I have never finished any knitting project that I’ve started. In trying to organize my office/sewing/crafting space this weekend, I came upon two half-finished scarves, one-third of a ribbed hat, a quarter of a baby blanket (for my baby brother…who is now a teenager) and several random other remnants of projects I have long since forgotten.

Here’s how it goes: I knit and purl and knit and purl and knit some more and still all I come up with is a couple of inches that don’t look like anything. I get bored, move on to something new. Lather, rinse, repeat.

Being a Jill of all trades has its drawbacks. I’m sure you all know the other half of the axiom that gives this blog its name (just in case you don’t, it’s the title of this post). The delayed gratification of knitting makes mastery all the more difficult for this impatient gal.  But why so impatient? I’ve got idle time. It’s typically spent watching Supernatural or Torchwood but it’s time nonetheless. And I’ve decided that I’m going to finish something knitted. Someday. Hopefully in 2011. Maybe this?

One piece garter stitch sweater from The Complete Photo Guide to Knitting.

Meanwhile, I just bought the pattern to join Casey’s Swing Dress Sew Along. More on that soon.

Leave a Reply

