Kwik Sew 3579 or How I Spent My Superbowl Sunday

I had the hardest time motivating to start in on Kwik Sew 3579. (Or should I say Kwik Seaux?) I think it was, in part, because it is another tunic. Typically, tunic dresses don’t occupy a high place of honor or frequent use in my wardrobe. I have just one that I adore. My good friend calls it “the pillowcase” or my “Dobby dress.” But I endure the mockery because it cost virtually nothing and gets mistaken for Hermes every time I wear it.

Anyway, the best thing about being a curvy girl (especially when you’re a larger curvy girl) is showing off that waist-to-hip ratio. Tunics definitely don’t do accomplish that. So, in honor of Superbowl Sunday, I almost called an audible and switched patterns. But after finding this gorgeous black-and-cream floral silk at Mood Fabrics, I found just enough inspiration to forge ahead with my planned lesson.

The fabric was a little tough to work with in comparison to the denim and jersey I’ve previously used. It was so light and airy that even laying it out and folding it presented a challenge. Plus, I was nervous about ripping out seams and damaging the fabric.

Well, it turns out that it’s not just seam-ripping that can do damage. I made three errors of varying size working on this dress. First, I put the interfacing at the collar in backwards. I’m pretty sure it’s the silk that’s supposed to touch my skin, not the ugly white muslin. Grr. On a related note, I discovered that interfacings come in different colors and weights from a visit to Steinlauf and Stoller made AFTER I bought this one. I guess since it’s on the inside, only I will ever know.

Next big mistake. I’m not sure how this happened but I ran out of fabric to make the length I wanted. I bought the yardage specified on the pattern envelope and laid the pieces out where they said. But I ended up having to turn this puppy into a mini tunic dress. Also not that big of a deal right.

Here’s the whopper. I had already attached front and back top pieces at the shoulder seams and front back skirts at the waist line. I was half-way through the dress  when I noticed there was a hole in the middle of the skirt at right about crotch level. Talk about Don’t Showcha Your Chocha!

 

A hole in one

It seems when the pattern cutting layout called for me to put the skirt piece face-down on the fabric, Roxanne, the rocket surgeon, didn’t think that the notches should be cut as though it were face up. The fact that the notch marking was on the fold should have been a dead giveaway.

I wasn’t sure what I was going to do but I knew I had to finish the dang thing. Not only had I already put in six hours of a Sunday afternoon, this fabric was not cheap. Did I mention it was silk bought at Mood? I ended up using a little Stitch Witchery to attach a fabric scrap on the inside of the dress. It hardly shows. Dontcha think?

Note to self: Wear a slip. Also, sweep floor.

What I learned:

1) Never EVER cut on the fold. If it looks like the pattern is telling you to do so, you’re a moron.
2) How to put in fusible interfacing at the collar.
3) How to put in pockets. (What idiot would actually use the pockets on a silk tunic dress? Not this one!)
4) How to finish raw edges by hand overcasting (time consuming but worth it).

Leave a Reply

