Sew School, So Cool (hopefully)

If you remember, my chief complaint about the Sew Everything Workshop book by Diana Rupp was that the projects weren’t set up in a clear enough order to be a real sewing school. So, ever the list maker, I’ve decided to set up my own lesson plans.

I’ve come up with a 2-part, 8-piece beginner lesson series for myself based on patterns in the book, the Kwik Start patterns recommended to me by the lovely lady at Paron, and a few patterns that I picked up from the Vogue/Butterick/McCall three-day $3.99 sale (sorry for not posting yesterday before the sale ended! I’ll try to do better with that). I’ve designed this lesson plan to start with the basics, build on them, and ease myself into more and more difficult, but crucial, techniques to get me on my sewing way.

Here are the projects and what I hope to learn from them:

Lesson Plan 1: Absolute Beginner

Sew Everything Workshop Tote-ally Awesome Bag: A patternless tote bag to learn the basics of cutting and sewing a straight seam.

Kwik Start 3683 Tunic: A 2-piece pattern to learn cutting from a pattern and notching (for armholes); continue improving seam sewing skills

Kwik Start 3765 Elastic Waist Skirt: 3-piece pattern to learn pattern marking, inserting an elastic, overcasting edges, and hemming; continue improving pattern-cutting and notching skills

Kwik Start 3579 Tunic Dress: Yes, another tunic. But this one is in a woven fabric with an empire waist to learn how to insert interfacing and create a waist line; continue to improve hemming skills

Lesson Plan 2: Better Beginner

Sew Everything Workshop Wrap Skirt: A 4-piece pattern to learn darts, graded seams and new stitches: edgestitching, slipstitching, and zigzag seams.

McCall’s M5978 Cardigan and Sleeveless Tank: Because I have a top half and maybe I should plan to put some clothes on it. I’ll try to learn button-holing and big, bad, scary sleeves.

Butterick B5285 Gathered A-Line Skirt: To learn how to sew a waistband, insert pockets and an all-purpose zipper.

Butterick B4790 Retro-Style dress: A 3-piece pull-on dress that puts top and bottom together, finally! Learn to use bias tape and improve dart skills.

If this works out, I’ll probably do an advanced-beginner lesson series for myself, where I’ll try more fitted looks and tackle things like collars, invisible zippers, and lining. Feel free to join me if you’re a beginner too. Or, if you’re a more advanced seamstress (or seamster), please weigh in on how I can improve this lesson plan.

Leave a Reply

