Dear Talk about the Economy: Cut it out!

Financially irresponsible or not, sometimes we still want stuff.

I just saw Suze Orman accosting unsuspecting New York City shoppers on camera for Extra. I know, quality television. Anyway, she gave them all the third degree and if she discovered they had any credit card debt or were parents without life insurance or were young people who didn’t have a 401K, she pronounced them unworthy to own the items they had just purchased because they can’t afford it. And forced or guilted them into returning their items.

Please Suze, don't take my floppy sunhat and Havaianas.

Please Suze, don't take my floppy sunhat and Havaianas.

Now, I know the “Can I afford it?” segment is a popular one on her show. And I’m actually a pretty big fan of  Orman’s Money Book for the Young, Fabulous and Broke. But if that loudmouthed, bottle-blonde, financial chippy had stopped me like that, I would have throttled her.

We get it! The economy has tanked. We wake up every morning to Jean Chatzky squawking about it on the Today show. We drink our afternoon Folgers crystals (can’t afford the latte anymore, right?) while reading Vogue cover lines chirp about how to be a “recessionista.” Now, it seems we can’t even get a little evening soul salve from A.C. (Slater, that is) interviewing L.C. on Extra without getting it thrown in our faces.

Take it from this girl who, thanks to too much CNBC, had dreams every night last November about standing in the bread line (in the worst one, I had to boil and eat my favorite pair of red, leather stilettos). WE GET IT!

3 responses to “Dear Talk about the Economy: Cut it out!

  1. It sounds like the Walmartization of the recession. What a sell out!

  2. I agree that these telepresentations must end but I take it one step further. These shows are making the recession worse. Simply put, the more crap that other people buy, the better our economy will be. Some have said that today’s problems stem primarily from people buying what they could not afford. That’s not really true. The problems only became, well, problematic when they STOPPED buying what they couldn’t afford. Sure, the credit on which they bought said crap may have disappeared, thus limiting the ability to purchase unaffordable goods. But that’s a detail I will ignore for the moment. The bottom line is that each time Ms. Orman convinces someone to return something, my 401(k) shrinks. She should be stopped.

  3. Wow, some people have really skewed thinking. So. . . what happens when nobody has anymore credit to abuse?

    I’m going to assume that Daniel J’s post was meant to be humorous. LOL.

Leave a Reply

